The world today.

This is not going to be some political post or some rant about being glued to technology; rather, it is about the uneasiness I have with the unique status and recognition we give to random acts of kindness in our culture.

I started thinking about this the other day and haven’t been able to get it off my mind. I work in a place where I see a lot of need, regularly. It’s not unusual that myself and my staff extend help to those who have needs in simple and practical ways.

As a Christian, I feel like my job (other than sharing the love of Jesus) is this: see a need, meet a need. 

Anyway…the other day a couple needed some clothes. What they had had been ruined when the people they were staying with through it outside in the rain. Y’all, how many people reading this have ever needed clothes? Don’t confuse this with want 😊, obviously. A few of us at the office came together and met this need. By the way others reacted, we might had well have donated a kidney.

I am on the brink of tears again writing this, as I have had this heavy on my heart since it happened – what kind of world do we live in, what kind of humans are we to each other, that these actions are so unique? Praiseworthy? Special? This should be the standard, the minimum.

I am embarrassed to say I haven’t thought much about applying this as a mom to Sullivan. He’s only 2, but I better hope and pray my actions are honorable. He is white, he is male, and so far he’s from a family who doesn’t have material needs…he will have privilege to extend into great kindness and love. If he’s figured out my iPad and how to turn on the tv, don’t you know he’s watching if I stop with a sandwich or blow by the guy standing at the intersection by the mall begging.

Tip generously, share meals, buy and make extra food, pay attention to the needs of others. Use your blessings to extend love. You may be the only kindness they see. You never know who just had their belongings tossed out in the rain.

“My command is this, love others as I have loved you.” John 15:12

“Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.” Matthew 5:42

Leave a Reply

